Skip to main content Skip to main menu

Longford Tourism Strategy

This County Longford Tourism Strategy 2023-2027 represents a roadmap for tourism in the county aligned with an exciting five-year vision for Longford and a county wide commitment to sustainable tourism. Central to the approach is the development of a sustainable destination and important element of Ireland’s Hidden Heartland’s delivering a unique destination and unique Longford experiences.

Our Vision “Longford will become a year-round sustainable tourism destination providing authentic community and eco-tourism experiences encouraging visitors to embrace slow tourism and grounded in respect for its natural and heritage assets that are protected for future generations.”

Download the County Longford Tourism Strategy below.


Screening for Appropriate Assessment Report. Screening for Strategic Environmental Assessment Report. Signed determinations for screening for AA and SEA

Longford Tourism Strategy 2017-2022

The County Tourism Strategy sets out the overall Vision for tourism in County Longford from 2017 - 2022. The aim of this Strategy is to grow Longford's Tourism by developing a thriving tourism sector in a planned, co-ordinated and cohesive manner as set out in this Strategy.   It includes an ambitious programme of work to be undertaken within the County to build local products and services that appeal to the marketplace.  A review of the programme of work outlined and completed under previous strategies undertaken from 2010 to 2016, combined with an analysis of the current strength of the tourism sector within the County helped to prioritise actions going forward. Download the County Longford Tourism Strategy below.



This project was assisted by Longford Local Community Development Committee, Longford Community Resources Clg. and Longford County Council through the Rural Development Programme (LEADER) 2014-2020 which is part-financed by the EU, "The European Agricultural Fund for Rural Development: Europe investing in rural areas" and the Department of Rural & Community Development.       The European Commission.

Back to Top